Buying

Bidding on whiskies at Scotch Whisky Auctions couldn't be easier! Our auctions run once a month for 10 days and you can place a bid at any time during this time.

Registration

All bidders need to be registered with us first. This attracts a one off fee of £5 (+ VAT if applicable) but once you've registered you're all set for bidding!

Please familiarise yourself with our terms and conditions as well as this buying guide. If you still have questions, please get in touch. Our team will be happy to help!

 

How do I bid on a lot?

When the auction is live, simply find the lots you want to bid on and select the amount from the drop down menu. Please note we use an incremental system so you only need to select the maximum price you wish to pay.

Please make sure that you have examined the lot carefully before you place your bid. By placing a bid on a lot you are confirming that you have examined the item and are satisfied with it. Just like in physical auction houses ALL BIDS ARE FINAL. THERE WILL BE NO EXCEPTIONS.

You will only be able to see the lots when the auction is live!

You are able to see all your bids in your account. You can also monitor which lots you've been outbid on and which ones you're winning.

 

What dates are the auctions?


Auction number

Bottles due in by & Saturday drop off

Auction goes live

Auction ends

Payments start week beginning

92nd

Fri 09 (Sat 10) Nov 2018

Fri 23 Nov

Sun 02 Dec

Sun 23 Dec

93rd

Fri 14 (Sat 15) Dec 2018

Fri 28 Dec

Sun 06 Jan

Sun 27 Jan

94th

Fri 11 (Sat 12) Jan 2019

Fri 25 Jan

Sun 03 Feb

Sun 24 Feb

95th

Fri 08 (Sat 09) Feb 2019

Fri 22 Feb

Sun 03 Mar

Sun 24 Mar

96th

Fri 15 (Sat 16) Mar 2019

Fri 29 Mar

Sun 07 Apr

Sun 28 Apr

97th

Fri 12 (Sat 13) Apr 2019

Fri 26 Apr

Sun 05 May

Sun 26 May

98th

Fri 10 (Sat 11) May 2019

Fri 24 May

Sun 02 Jun

Sun 23 Jun

99th

Fri 14 (Sat 15) Jun 2019

Fri 28 Jun

Sun 07 Jul

Sun 28 Jul

100th

Fri 12 (Sat 13) Jul 2019

Fri 26 Jul

Sun 04 Aug

Sun 25 Aug

101st

Fri 09 (Sat 10) Aug 2019

Fri 23 Aug

Sun 01 Sep

Sun 22 Sep

102nd

Fri 13 (Sat 14) Sep 2019

Fri 27 Sep

Sun 06 Oct

Sun 27 Oct

103rd

Fri 11 (Sat 12) Oct 2019

Fri 25 Oct

Sun 03 Nov

Sun 24 Nov

104th

Fri 08 (Sat 09) Nov 2019

Fri 22 Nov

Sun 01 Dec

Sun 22 Dec

When does the auction close?

The auction will close any time after 7pm on the last evening, on the first Sunday of the month. From that time the software begins to monitor bidding activity on the site and when the interval between bids increases, the auction will begin to shut down. Sniper software, which depends on last-second bids, will merely extend the length of the auction.

We have received many messages of support from people taking part in the auctions, describing our system as fair and equitable. We hope you agree and enjoy a sniper-free bidding environment!

Please note: the auction does not end at 7pm. From experience it is usually after 8.30pm UK time.

 

Are there any fees for the buyers on top of the hammer price?

Yes. Buyers will pay an additional 10% commission, plus VAT where applicable. There is no VAT on the hammer price. We also offer Loss & Breakage liability cover – see below for details.

See the delivery section for these costs as well as storage fees.

 

How do I know if I've won a lot?

You will receive an email with a link to follow. Please make sure you follow this as it creates the order and will mean we can assist you should you have any questions. If you can't see the email, try logging into your account, there should be a link with “pay bill for items I've won” at the top of your account. Click on this to start the check out process.

If you have any problems, our team will be happy to help if you get in touch.

 

When do I need to pay by?

You must make your payment to us within 7 days of the auction closing to avoid a late payment fee. This late payment fee will be 3% in addition to the order total.

 

How do I pay?

Follow the link in the email you will receive or log into your account and click on the link to make a payment. Follow the simple check out process and the final page will provide you with your payment options.

We accept the following payment methods:

Please note that you can only make payments through the website, not the app.

 

I can't find my bottles / order to make a payment?

Just log into your account and click on "view my orders" to find your order. You can follow the links to make the payment online or call the office to pay via the telephone.

 

When will I receive my bottles?

Delivery times will vary according to your location. It can take up to 14 days from receiving your payment to your order being dispatched (provided delivery has been paid for) Some locations will require individually tailored invoices for delivery.

Please be patient! The days following the auction closing are our busiest and we work as quickly as possible to dispatch your order. You will receive emails from us with status updates for your order.

See our Delivery and Loss & Breakage liability cover guide for more information.

 

What countries can you ship to?

Have a look at our Delivery and Loss & Breakage liability cover page for a more comprehensive guide, but if you live in a country which permits alcohol imports then we can probably ship to you!

If you're a US resident, please make sure you have checked that your State allows alcohol imports before you bid.

If you're still unsure about shipping to your address please email the office or call for more assistance.

 

Can I collect my bottles from the office?

You're welcome to collect the bottles in person but this must be done after 10am due to Scottish licensing laws

Loading